Posts Tagged ‘16 to 64’

Personal Independence Payment claims start in some areas today

Disability Living Allowance (DLA) is replaced by Personal Independence Payment (PIP) for people aged 16 to 64 for new claims from today.

The new benefit is being introduced in two stages with certain parts of the country included from April 8th 2013 – and all other areas included from June 10th 2013 onwards.

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) will apply to new claims, initially for people living in areas including Cheshire, Cumbria, Merseyside, north east England and north west England.   Atos Healthcare is working closely with the DWP to manage the start of the new service in these areas.

The first two letters of each of the relevant postcodes are: BL, CA, CH, CW, DH, DL FY, L, LA, M, NE, PR, SR, TS, WA and WN, and are shown in the map in orange, but the following specific postcodes are excluded:

  • CH1, CH4, CH5, CH6, CH7, CH8
  • DL6, DL7, DL8, DL9, DL10 and DL11
  • LA2 7, LA2 8, LA6 2 and LA6 3
  • TS9


    Click to enlarge

When a new Disability Living Allowance claim is received by the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) from one of the initial areas it will be treated as a claim to Personal Independence Payment (PIP) instead.  The DWP will inform people if the new benefit applies to them.

The new PIP benefit will then roll out to the remaining parts of the country from June 10th 2013.  The areas where Atos Healthcare will be completing assessments are shown in yellow and pink on the map, in addition to the orange..  

The government have produced a checker that you can use to check how Personal Independence Payment affects you

If you would like to find out more about how the Atos Healthcare assessment process works, more information can be found on our website

See also:

The Personal Independence Payment timeline


Share this post